Home > kenau > PuG etiquette

PuG etiquette

Is there such a thing as etiquette amongst strangers on the internet? Particularly amongst gamers?

I’m sure I’m one of the “wouldn’t it be nice if everyone was nice” carebear types, or could be labelled as such – compared to the epeen waving DPS characters I frequently come across.

But I sincerely believe that a hello and a thankyou at the start and conclusion of a run are standard politenesses.

And that posting DPS meters to the group is not helpful, or even accurate. Least still making critical comments of the “lol-dps” or “your DPS sucks” variety.

Kenau went into her first heroic since she got shelved today. And the DPS was not stellar – about 2700 or so. She is still wearing heroic token badge gear, so this is not surprising. Quite simply, there was a fully geared hunter there. According to *his* recount, he did over 8K DPS. I just don’t understand why he had to tell us all. It was not really instructive in any way – no-one died in VH heroic, and he pulled aggro many times, so that the mobs were all over the place, heading to him.

I was the lowest DPS – apart from the tank and the healer, who don’t really count. But really. Why? How does this advance a group at all? Or the pleasure of an experience? It doesn’t get the job done faster, nor does it teach anything – the DPS on recount cross-server is quite inaccurate, as far as I can tell.

In other news, Stetson got a Perky pug. And has bought a new pair of trousers that he lacks the gems for.

Now why is his DPS not more than 3,700? could it be the BM spec, or something else?

  1. Korenwolf
    10/01/2010 at 1:13 pm

    I’m afraid I’m going to start by calling “bull****” on one of your statements

    “And the DPS was not stellar – about 2700 or so.”

    The instances you’re running are tuned for 1-1.5k, at nearly 3k you’re doing more than enough for the content and more than enough for a blitz run of the content. Nothing wrong with the dps at all unless you’re fully loaded with TotC25 gear, and hell for any class which has a rotation dependency (DKs included) the trash and bosses go down too bloody fast to see real numbers.

    On the wider point, I ignore people who keep posting meters, if I’m being charitable it’s because they’re excited about their numbers, if I’m being uncharitable it’s because they’re under endowed in the real world and have to rely on their epeen for ego boosts.

    Those posting meters are doing it for _their_ enjoyment, the pleasure of putting someone else down, bragging at how good they are. Remember a lot of the players are teens to mid-20’s, and predominately (though not exclusively) male. Most males in that bracket are prats, they’re pack animals and need to prove they’re the alpha (when there’s no pre-defined male in the role), in a PUG there is no alpha. So everything is up for grabs, and who knows there might be a …. girl.. playing, and there’s chance she might be impressed and therefore want a shag. Throw in the dickwad theory and you’ve got the meter whore.

    Rhino skin, ignore the meter posters, they’re not important. If they “lol-dps” /ignore them, they don’t exist, they’re not worth the time. The do appear to have hotfixed the /ignore problems so not partying with morons is becoming easier.

  2. Korenwolf
    10/01/2010 at 1:14 pm

    Missed the last bit.

    BM is not a good instance / raid spec, so if you want silly numbers you need marksman I think. However if you don’t want to faff with dual spec and like BM then 3.7k is on the respectable side of “nuke” for 5-man content.

    • korenmolen
      10/01/2010 at 1:46 pm

      hmm – I want to try either SV or MM – the one with replenishment. But I don’t want to do that, with the gear I am in, and get put into an ICC heroic and pull only 1.5K because I don’t know what I’m doing. My dummy work does not seem that good – I need to learn how to play something other than BM in a safe environment. Not one where I need to know all my tricks straight away.

      Kind of a relief to get kenau out of the box. It’s been a while since I played anything with her – and I’ve almost forgotten what to do. Rotation? there’s no time for any of that stuff anymore – the ranged just AOE everything and it runs all over the place.

      Perhaps there is some response to meter posting. Like “oh fantastic scores dude” or “worship the dude at the top of the meters” but that would probably reinforce the behaviour, instead of them seeing it as irony….

      • Kayla
        13/01/2010 at 8:20 pm

        “Oh, your e-peen needs extending? I think I have some email spam I can forward to you that promises to do just that!”

  3. korenmolen
    14/01/2010 at 12:34 pm

    That’s a good one.

    I’ve noticed that recently, on Cress, I have been at the top of the recount damage meters. And I have drawn aggro – which as a squishy priest is not easy to deal with. Fade cannot come off CD fast enough…

    I’ve not been posting meters. Just having a look at the end of the run to see what the damage is, and having a smile.

    • Korenwolf
      18/01/2010 at 7:55 pm

      Now the trick is to do that damage without pulling aggro 🙂

      • korenmolen
        20/01/2010 at 12:57 pm

        It is true – I am hearing Omen go off. Oddly, I was in a run with Lea for random frosties. He seemed pleased that he could pull aggro off our tank… whereas I had thought it was a Bad Thing.

        I don’t hang out in the DPS channels. But it seems that unless it is an aggro reset fight, pelting the target for all you’re worth is the desired approach for raiders.

        Which makes it a less appropriate approach in heroics, where the mobs fall over with their feet in the air as soon as look at you. There’s not a lot of point in having a threat lead on something that dies so quickly.

        Although I can imagine the response of “well, if I’m doing that much damage, they’ll be dead before they get to me” as being the appropriate one. Which comes neatly back to “you yank it, you tank it”.

        I’m torn between dotting up everything with sw:p on just pointing mindsear at the tank’s current target. With most groups, if I don’t do this, I find it hard to get a tick of damage. I’d actually quite like to DPS something in a raid setting, to see what I can manage to produce on a single-focus target.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

