Home > cataclysm, heals, Squishy > Cataclysm Talents – holy priest?

Cataclysm Talents – holy priest?

Dwism helpfully pointed the way tothe new wow talent calculator.

My first attempt at a holy build is here

The thing is, being forced to take 31 points in holy means that I am never going to be able to achieve Inner Focus – something that I have always macroed in to Divine Hymn – because that is a talent that requires 10 points *already* in the disc tree. And I can only ever achieve a maximum of 10 points.

I am by no means a fanatical theorycrafter, but I have observed how my holy talents have slightly shifted in WoLK – as my need for mana regen decreased, so I was able to free up mana regen talents and move over to other talents. Similarly, as I found my healing style changing, I could drop the mana-regen-when-using-this-spell (I’m thinking of you, Healing Prayers and put the points elsewhere.

I don’t object to the idea of guiding new players towards one particular tree – I remember the dark old days of sticking points anywhere that seemed good on poor old Peterselie – but I think restricting freedom of movement like this is harsh. I want to be able to have more than 10 points *outside* my main tree – perhaps as much as 15. This is to allow flexibility as the game changes around me, with new gear for both me and the team I play with.

Last night, I healed on Cress for the first time in over a month. That was good, because I wanted to test whether I still remembered where everything was. The first dungeon we did was with a new-ish bear tank (the tank was not new, this was just a new tanking class to him, and therefore, less-geared etc etc). I had my low mana warning go off once, and was frequently sitting at half mana (something that is not usual to me – except on heroic ICC25).

Heals did not seem to fire off fast enough, and I am not sure whether there was some lag – hard to tell. In the second heroic, the beartank swapped for his main – the pally tank. The different was unbelievable – the healing was minor, the threat problems (and consequent collateral damage on DPS) non-existent and my mana bar stayed virtually full. Even so, I still believe there was lag – one mob stepped through a VH portal without an identifying name…

So – where haste and mana regen seemed really lacking in the first instance, they were not present in the second. In the first, the tank was sort of geared for heroics, and on an alt he was less familiar with, and in the second, way overgeared. And I was using the same gear both occasions.

So that’s how different it is healing with the rest of the party having different gear levels. Assuming a raid has people of the same gear level, they should initially require heavy mana regen and later, require less, as they begin to match, and then become superior to the game design (always taking actual skill into account – it is possible to overgear content and not conquer it through lack of skill and coordination, but that is another thing).

What I’m working round to saying is that I may want to choose heavy mana regen devices in the game and then to whittle them away in favour of other things. From the looks of it, that won’t really be possible.

Finally – because I cannot reach Inner Focus, I might as well see whether this Evangelism>Archangel talent works for regen purposes…

Wonder whether I can get a beta key…

Categories: cataclysm, heals, Squishy
  1. Korenwolf
    14/07/2010 at 12:59 pm

    Yup, as I’ve stated in PUGs “experienced tank, new to being a bear” or similar. Having the suicide warrior along helps for practicing picking up breaking mobs, the bear can’t spread out the threat to the same levels across multiple mobs as quickly as the tankadin can. Due to both class mechanics and simple gearing, the plate wrecking ball is so massively overgeared for VH it’s unreal. When you consider that place was designed around a full party in blues and he’s rocking 264 & 277 gear then there is little which can rip aggro if I decide I’m not going to loose it.

    The bear will develop, I know his itemisation isn’t right yet, he’s missing enchants, I could do with more dodge/agi to reduce the number of incoming hits which make it through as well as more armour / health to eat up the ones which do land.

    The tanking side is getting there on him. More practice, maybe it’s time to take him into the evil which is LFD as a bear.

  2. 14/07/2010 at 1:14 pm

    Interesting – I was looking at this calculator http://www.wowtal.com/#k=.9mn.priest which showed that to get Chakra you had to have a point in lightwell…..

    • korenmolen
      15/07/2010 at 9:14 pm

      I was thinking Lightwell would be compulsory too – perhaps they have decided that it should be optional, given the limits on choices – or perhaps it will become compulsory in a later beta build…

      Maybe they will move Inner Focus within the limits of the first ten talents…

  3. korenmolen
    04/08/2010 at 5:33 pm

    hmm – the talents have shifted from the ones I selected, I am sure. See update post at http://wp.me/pywqO-5n

  1. 04/08/2010 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

