Home > heals, raids, Squishy > RIP Even Odds. RIP raiding?

RIP Even Odds. RIP raiding?

http://vomsters.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/wrath-progression-no-more/

my response is below – I’m sorry to see the demise of my raiding guild – although it has been coming for a while. I’d hoped that the signs were just twitches, and that we could have papered over the cracks – it’s not long before the end of the expansion now – perhaps the entity that was EO could have survived, given a sort of hiatus.

EO was a good place to stay.  It had a problem with the 10man splits – they worked so long as they were not fixed raiding groups, and the teams were rotated, but the moment they became the tight-knit groups, then there was bad feeling.  There has to be – after all, a clique is something that you are either part of, or not part of.

But, I can cheerfully say that it was not a bad place to be.  There was little immaturity, not that much wowcock, a genuine feeling that behaviour that was insulting, racist, sexist or offensive would be stamped on – which, sad to say, is not the norm for WoW.  As a 25man raid group, we were either 2 or 3 on the alliance side of the server – 8th overall in progression – not bad for a social guild where people could admit to private lives, and where moving house/having babies/getting married were considered suitable reasons for raid absences – those kinds of markers that distinguish adults from teens, whose priorities and attitudes are different.

Is this the end of raiding for me?  I guess.  I don’t know.

Categories: heals, raids, Squishy
  1. Kayla
    13/08/2010 at 1:02 pm

    It’s not the end of raiding for you unless you want it to be. Unless you consider that the social 10-man raiding with Team Pirate is just not enough for you. We may not be super-leet and hardcore, but we have lots of fun and, quite importantly, are capable of a fair bit more than most of us think we are. We’re seeing, and defeating, content that 6 months ago most of the guild thought would never happen. I am firmly of the opinion that we will, if we want, happily march through the content to 85 together and become a stronger team while still able to have fun.

    • Korenwolf
      13/08/2010 at 4:17 pm

      What she said, the largest blockers to getting things moving within the team are (a) getting enough people online at a given time and (b) raiding costs. I think actually the latter is the bigger issue at the moment due to the potential costs in wiping regularly on new content, I know that a full night’s raiding in the current tier gear can easily be 200g. How this is resolved / worked around is something to be discussed at a guild level though.

      My current plans revolve around not looking for anything until Cata (if something comes up great, if not, no sweat) and then getting two tanking toons to raid level gearing.

  2. korenmolen
    13/08/2010 at 9:29 pm

    Raiding to me is something slightly different from the Team Pirate runs as they have been: raiding , to me, involves a high amount of commitment from all members – not only agreeing to turn up regularly at a particular time, but also a commitment to have the correct flasks, food, enchants, gems and so forth for new content. And a desire to improve so as to maximise what can be produced from the gear that you have. I know that I am not achieving the maximum DPS possible on Cresside (I checked Simcraft) – but I am getting closer to where I could be, and I have got better, by checking my gear for the correct stats, for watching the cooldowns, for *not dying* where possible.

    Also, a desire to reach beyond what is difficult and learn the way to beat the encounters – wiping possibly 20 times in one raiding session and just picking up and getting on with it. Some encounters have particular dynamics that mean you literally have to dance – off the fire, out of the nasty, towards the tank, dispel at 3 stacks and before 5 stacks, kite your blob in a particular direction, target a particular add,…

    I’m not sure that this is the sort of thing that Team Pirate is interested in, and I’m not convinced it would be right to expect that sort of attitude either – for raiding to work, there has to be a voluntary assumption of these principles. The implosion of EO shows this: people were not prepared to turn up to handle the difficult content – they just wanted to coast through, and they couldn’t really be bothered about the attendance – despite all encouragement by way of DKP, posts on the forum about attendance.

    So that’s what I mean about raiding – and why I think my raiding career is over – because although I am geared to down LK25, both in my main and offspec, and I’ve got all the will to put behind this, I’m less certain of finding like minded people – people who are a pleasure to be with *and* who have the determination to get past the difficult bits.

    Remember how it was with team tincan? we worked hard to get through content that we should not have been able to deal with – but that was just 5 of us. Expand that to 10, and it becomes much more difficult to manage. Unless everyone *wants* it. Maybe we do, but quite possibly we don’t.

    I would be very happy to continue to level my characters and do 5 man dungeons with guildies. That’s what I like to do. But the raiding? I just don’t know.

  3. Trelaine
    10/09/2014 at 6:55 am

    I have to thank the whole EO. Feinns teaching and a lot of people I considered friends when I left in the midway of WotLK. I returned a couple of days ago only to find that all the people I knew were gone. Nobody even knew who EO was, kinda felt a bit heartbroken at this. I lost contact with basically everyone after I bad to move at the time, was a shame and a group of people I actually enjoyed playing with.

    Best Regards,
    Trelaine (still in ER)

    • 09/12/2014 at 1:40 pm

      Awww – that’s a bit sad. I think some are still playing, but it’s such a long time ago – and there have been plenty of sad pandas since.

      Im getting to the stage where I am no longer so committed…

      And then I come back again… Each swing of the pendulum makes me more casual

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

