Home > dps, rogue > Rogue 80: Rogue 80 Hit Caps

Rogue 80: Rogue 80 Hit Caps

Rogue 80: Rogue 80 Hit Caps.

Now I have my combat-specced rogue at 80, I am working on gear.

I am gemming constantly for agility, and looking for drops that have agility and arpen on them.

I have enchanted for agility and have chosen the icewalker enchant for my boots, to increase my +hit chance and my crit rating.

I believe that this posts suggests that although the melee hit cap is 8% (as expected) my 5/5 precision helps make my effective melee hit cap 3%.

However my poison hit cap is 17% (less 5% this is 12%).

I am currently sitting on 10.8% hit from my gear, so this means I am within shouting distance of the poison hit cap – at 15.8%.  Add a draenai and I am very close.  Or add a shadowpriest and I am capped.

My current rotation (plan) is to Sinister Strike to 5 combat points, then Slice and Dice, then Sinister Strike to 5 and then rupture.   Then sinister strike until 5 points and if it is not dead,  then Eviscerate.

The thing is, I am not yet at the point where I have got my CDs under control.  I sometimes end up with SnD dropping, because I was too busy watching the combat points number, or without energy.  Also, I have not effectively worked out a multi-target strategy that seems effective – other than hitting tricks to tank and charging in with FoK or Killing Spree.  If things die too fast, then I cannot follow the combat point rotation above, because I barely get 3 Sinister Strikes in (with blade Flurry that is slightly better, but the comabt points do not seem to add up any faster).  I am leaning towards a 1 point SnD starter, then as many CPs as I can before a rupture, so long as it is not dead yet.

My DPS is a little ineffectual.  Against the dummy I can get up to 2900 – using the single target rotation.  But it is not yet fixed in my internal timing system yet, as to which ability is about to go.

One of the things I am trying to train myself atm is to always have tricks on CD.  And to try and interrupt as much as possible – I think I need some alteration of my action bars to make it slightly easier – perhaps a keybind or two.  It gets a lot easier when I remember the fights and what to expect.  There is probably an interrupt addon out there that makes it slightly more easy than the default interface.  But practice has to make it easier.

So, practicing in heroics (preferably ICC ones) is what I really want to do with Neuri – the badges will soon turn into badges of super-duperness with the next patch badge-conversion system – so I shall get an effective triumph=> Frost badge conversion.  So nothing wasted there then.  But the real thing I am trying to achieve is practice.  And apart from working on the target dummy (which very obligingly stays still and does not attempt to eat me) this seems the best way.  Because 3K DPS is way too low now for my gear level – I’m fairly sure it should be heading towards 5K+ – there are a few pieces of ilvl 200 in there, but I’m pretty sure more could be squeezed out of the kit if I really understood what I was doing.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

