Home > cataclysm, levelling, raids, rogue, What's it all about then > Wrathful endings « Paw Prints at the Portal

Wrathful endings « Paw Prints at the Portal

Wrathful endings « Paw Prints at the Portal.

I was going to leave a comment on this post, but it looked like it was being a bit long.

If you look at raiding as getting better and better gear, then there is definitely no point in farming raids considering that Cataclysm will drop in a few weeks now – with the possible exception of raid-level trinkets,  most of the gear you are getting will be replaced by quest blues and greens in Cataclysm – what is BiS at the moment for the current ceiling of encounter will very certainly not be BiS in the new game.

If you consider raiding as being about beating encounters – and the loot that drops as being the means to doing so, then raiding is still a valid activity.  The achievements still happen, the drakes are still available, the group fun is still worth having – and working towards having a cohesive group of guildmates is worth doing – in Cataclysm, the guild rewards will depend significantly on how well the guild does, and you will progress faster and gain more personal rewards, the more reputation you have with your guild – so working as a group together is getting the groundwork in, as far as I can see.

Raiding is also, in itself, a skill. And playing your class is a skill – not merely whether you are one of the three main basic roles, which is one thing, but the peculiarities of your specific class and even your spec. I am thrilled to see my rogue having a chance at raiding – the gear might be a nice upgrade, and lead to abilities/rotations being much easier to obtain – but I am also thrillled to see her in ICC heroics – something that can teach me how to rogue a lot better than solo questing, where I either kill things, or die in the process, because – they are facing me and pounding me – not something for which a rogue is ideally suited. The more I play, the more I think I am learning – and raid experience is totally different on her – feels strangely fresh to be doing an encounter that is almost snoozeworthy on Cress, because she has seen it as healer for months and months.

And that’s another thing – the next patch that drops is going to be a real change for us all – we will have new talent trees, new specs to learn about – I can really see how doing old content with new specs will be good – time to test out rotations within the safety of easily conquered dungeons, where the incomplete nature of a spec can be forgiven slightly more than when we face cataclysm dungeons, which are made for people with different stats on gear, and different specs.

So, Wrath is dying – and soon the end of the world will be nigh – and maybe taking a back seat is a good plan – now is a good time for a raid break, if you need one – a good time to give the family care and attention, to make up for a total immersion in December as you level like a loon, but there is still a point to being present – there are skills to be learned on alts, there are skills to be learned even on your main specs, especially after the patch hits.

There’s time to mess about on the Beta, looking at the sights, trying out new skills, new quests, new races and zones, before it all gets grimly serious and we chafe at the bit at the starting gate and pinch each other’s mobs and stay up until silly o’clock just because that’s the only time the mobs spawn and are not bagged by someone else…

Time to relax a bit, have a bit of fun raiding. Get everyone their Kingslayer title that’s not got it, get a few more badges and bits of gold – those flying lessons are expensive, you know 🙂

  1. Kayla
    06/10/2010 at 12:46 am

    For questing in the starting weeks, I intend on trying to do as we did when Wrath hit and everybody and their grandmother were all after the same single named mob every 10 seconds. Try and lead by example by being polite and queuing (I /emote at Horde to indicate that I’ve noticed that they were there before me, I’ll even go so far as to sit down to indicate that I’m goint to wait my turn; if it’s other Alliance, then I’ll say something like “shall we party so we’re not righting over the same mob?”, it invaiably works out) of course, there are always arseholes (Horde and Alliance who will swoop in regardless of who is there and stand on the spawn point spamming AOE in a desperate attempt to be first. With the tweaked, dynamic spawn rates that Blizz have implemented, it’s just stupid. They should take the few minutes to chill, grab a drink, have a bikkit… I’d generalise about age and gender here, but I’ve met the same type across a spectrum of ages and of both genders in the “real world” and Azeroth just makes them more so. Korenwolf and Kaylad will reprise the Pally Wrecking Ball Partnership approach, though I may keep Kaylad in Ret spec unless it’s something we think we need the extra heals on – oh, and holy in dungeons, of course. I am really hoping that we can work together as a guild and do the dungeons at level a fair bit. I’m not sure how we’ll level the others – we try and have a damage dealer paired with a healer type if we can, it’s a good combination – except when we had the Fireball of Doom that was two Fire Mages blasting their way through the NR lower zones 🙂

    I will be more than happy to keep running the old stuff for achievements and guild rep and practice etc with Team Pirate. There are still things I’ve not gotten to do with Kaylad that I would really like to, not to mention the rest of the alts – I’d really like to try and keep my druid and mage at the upper end of gear levels once they hit 85 and that’s going to take points… and what do points mean? Points mean shiny gear for my non-raiding alts 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

